School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived news

Student Awards and Scholarships

Posted: Oct. 2, 2012

The School of Nursing is proud of all its students, but now and again some of them are recognized beyond these hallowed halls for their intelligence, diligence and dedication. During 2012, the following six students garnered some of the most prestigious awards available to students in any discipline.

Kate Bell

Kate Bell, RN

Kate Bell received a fellowship from the Archer Graduate Program in Public Policy, which allowed her to participate in an internship at the Oncology Nursing Society’s legislation and advocacy office in Washington, D.C. There she worked with other professionals to influence health-care agencies and political systems to implement changes in the health care delivered to oncology patients. She is pursuing a master’s degree at the School of Nursing as a clinical nurse specialist with an emphasis on adult oncology nursing.

The Archer Center is a self-supporting compo­nent of the University of Texas System that strives to enable students across Texas to take advantage of opportunities in Washington, D.C. Bell was one of 16 graduate students chosen for the 2012 award and is the first nursing student to be selected. Her travel was made possible by funding from the Lee and Joe Jamail Dean’s Endowment for Excellence in the School of Nursing.

Eduardo Chavex

Eduardo Chavex, RN, BSN (’08), MSN (’12)

Eduardo Chavex was named a Nurse Leader Scholar by the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence. Chavez received a Master of Science in Nursing Administration in May 2012 and is currently pursuing a doctoral degree. His research focuses on leadership characteristics and behaviors of bedside nurses.

The Jonas Nurse Leaders Scholar program was launched in 2008 by Barbara and Donald Jonas to increase the number of doctorally prepared faculty available to teach in nursing schools nationwide, as advocated by the Institute of Medicine’s recent report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health.

Hsiu-Rong Cheng

Hsiu-Rong Cheng, RN

Hsiu-Rong Cheng received the Harrington Dissertation Fellowship, which is a one-year award for graduate students at The University of Texas at Austin who are candidates for a doctoral degree. She is currently researching postpartum weight retention in Taiwanese women. Cheng will present her research results in the coming academic year and is on track to graduate from the PhD program in 2013.

The yearlong Harrington Dissertation Fellowship provides a $36,000 stipend, plus full tuition and required fees, and an allowance of $2,000 for travel, equipment, books or other professional expenses.

Masood Iqbal

Masood Iqbal, RN, CNS

Masood Iqbal is the first graduate student at The University of Texas at Austin to be awarded the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center Oncology Fellowship, a paid yearlong fellowship designed to give advanced practice nurses experience in all aspects of oncology care. Fellows also select and pursue an oncology specialty area for clinical focus and practice.

Applicants must have a minimum of a clinical master’s degree in nursing from an accredited university, be recognized as a clinical nurse specialist or nurse practitioner by the Texas Board of Nurse Examiners, be licensed as a registered nurse in the state of Texas, have two years nursing clinical experience and have current clinical experience in the advanced practice role.

Rhonda Nembhard

Rhonda Nembhard, RN

Rhonda Nembhard received a Rotary Founda­tion Ambassadorial Scholarship, which will allow her to travel to Spain and study at the University of Malaga from July 2012 to June 2013. Nembhard is currently pursuing a Master of Science in Nursing with a concentration in public health.

The Ambassadorial Scholarships program seeks to further international understanding and friendly relations among people of different countries and geographical areas and develop leaders who can address the humanitarian needs of the world community.

Janiece Walker

Janiece Walker, RN, MSN (’09)

Janiece Walker was named a John A. Hartford Foundation Patricia G. Archbold Scholar.

The two-year $100,000 scholarship is funded by a grant to the Gerontological Society of America by the John A. Hartford Foundation and will allow Walker to continue her doctoral studies with her mentor Dr. Tracie Harrison. Walker’s research focuses on geriatric nursing, specifi­cally in the area of minorities aging with disabilities.