School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived news

Professors at The University of Texas at Austin Selected as Esteemed Nurse Leaders

Posted: July 9, 2013

Dr. Tracie Harrison

Dr. Tracie Harrison

Dr. Eileen Kintner

Dr. Eileen Kintner

Two faculty members of The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing will be inducted as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing, one of nursing’s highest honors. Dr. Tracie Harrison and Dr. Eileen Kintner are among 172 nurse leaders who will be inducted during the Academy’s 40th annual meeting on Oct. 19, 2013, in Washington, D.C.

Tracie Harrison, PhD, RN, FNP, and associate professor, has conducted research on aging with disability including unemployed workers, racial and ethnic minority groups, and women who are both homeless and without insurance. Her study exploring health disparities in disability outcomes among older Mexican American and non-Hispanic white women was funded by the National Institute of Nursing Research. Dr. Harrison received the 2012 Gerontology Nurse Researcher Award from the Southern Nursing Research Society and recently completed a Health and Aging Policy fellowship supported by The Atlantic Philanthropies.

Eileen Kintner, PhD, RN, and associate professor, leads a multidisciplinary team in implementing national asthma guidelines using her theory-driven, evidence-guided, school- and community-based academic education and counseling Staying Healthy — Asthma Responsible and Prepared™ program for older children and adolescents and members of their social networks. Dr. Kintner has served as an advocate for child safety and health legislation implemented and her work with diverse, medically underserved, inner-city students and their families across the country has garnered numerous awards. Funding for her research has been consistently provided by the National Institutes of Health since the early 1990s.

“These dedicated professionals are innovative leaders in health care and strong advocates of nursing," said Alexa K. Stuifbergen, dean of the UT Austin School of Nursing. “As researchers and educators, they have made an impact on the future of nursing by ensuring that all individuals have access to quality care delivered with compassion and dignity. I am proud that their extraordinary contributions to nursing research and education have been recognized with this award.”

Other UT Austin alumni will also be inducted into the academy.
Congratulations to:

  • Jill E. Bormann, PhD, RN (MSN 1982)
  • Gaurdia Banister, PhD, RN (PhD, 1988)
  • Stephen J. Cavanagh, PhD, RN, FInstLM, FACHE (PhD 1987)
  • Melinda Tinkle, PhD, RN, WHNP-BC (PhD 1985)
  • Linda Rounds, PhD, RN, FNP, FAANP (PhD 1984)
  • Mary Beth Thomas, PhD, RN (PhD 2007)
  • Beth Collins Sharp, PhD, RN (PhD 1988)
  • Hsiu-Min Tsai, PhD, RN (MSN 1993, PhD 2005)

The American Academy of Nursing, composed of approximately 1,600 nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research, selects fellows to recognize efforts in advancing the profession of nursing.