School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived news

Recognition, Achievements and Awards

The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing believes it is important to honor and celebrate our faculty, alumni and students and their achievements in and contributions to scholarship, research and service. This catalog of honor is one way we say “Thank you” for the diligence and integrity they display through their work each and every day.



Megan Pfitzinger Lippe

Graduate Student received Numerous Awards and Scholarships
Posted: Oct. 16, 2013

Graduate student Megan Pfitzinger Lippe, BSN (’09), MSN (’11), RN, received numerous awards and scholarships during the year: the National League of Nursing Scholarship: $3,500 (only three awarded nationally to individuals who will pursue academic teaching jobs in nursing following graduation); the National Student Nurses Association Promise of Nursing Fellowship: $3,000 (also awarded to individuals pursuing academic teaching jobs in nursing); Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society Scholarship: $750; and the Texas Nurses Association District 5 Scholarship: $1,500.

Julie Zamer

Article by Honors Program Graduate was Published in Journal
Posted: Sept. 18, 2013

“Religious Leaders’ Perspectives of Ethical Concerns at the End of Life,” an article by Julie Zamer, RN, BSN (’13), was published in the October 2013 issue of Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing. The article describes Zamer's qualitative descriptive pilot study to better understand end-of-life ethical issues from the perspectives of a diverse group of religious leaders. Using semi-structured interviews, she was able to explore the experiences of leaders from four religions (Catholicism, Islam, Hinduism and Judaism) who have assisted individuals facing the end of life. Understanding these experiences can further the ability of health-care professionals to assist and care for those facing end-of-life situations. Deborah Volker, PhD, RN, FAAN, and associate professor at the UT Austin School of Nursing, is Zamer’s mentor and provided oversight of the study, which was completed as part of the undergraduate honors program.

Crystal Becerra

School of Nursing Student received a fellowship from the Archer Graduate Program in Public Policy
Posted: July 22, 2013

Crystal Becerra, RN, received a fellowship from the Archer Graduate Program in Public Policy. The Archer Center, which oversees the program, is a self-supporting component of the University of Texas System that enables students across Texas to take advantage of opportunities in Washington, D.C. Becerra also accepted an internship at the American Association of Retired People (AARP), where she worked with experts on Alzheimer's disease and on long-term care policy.

Margot Betcher

Courtney Hanna

Undergraduate Student presents Research at National Sleep Conference
Posted: July 1, 2013

Undergraduate nursing honors students Margot Betcher and Courtney Hanna presented their research at the SLEEP 2013 International Meeting of the Associated Sleep Societies (American Academy of Sleep Medicine & Sleep Research Societies) in Baltimore, Maryland, June 1–5, 2013.

Betcher and Hanna were the only undergraduate nursing students to present at the prestigious meeting.

Shalonda Horton

School of Nursing Student receives Research Grant from Sigma Theta Tau International
Posted: June 11, 2013

Shalonda Horton, (MSN 06) and currently an assistant instructor and doctoral student at the School of Nursing, received a student research grant from the Epsilon Theta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) in May 2013.

STTI seeks to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide.

Janiece Walker

Nursing Student Received a National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Nursing Research Predoctoral Fellowship
Posted: March 28, 2013

Janiece Walker, RN, MSN and doctoral candidate, received a National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Nursing Research predoctoral fellowship, which included a grant of $46,000. This prestigious two-year award will further her education and research on how the disablement process affects African American older women aging with osteoarthritis. Last year Walker received a John A. Hartford Award for $100,000, and recently the May Day Foundation requested that she include the study of pain in her work, and for that, they provided additional financial support.

Two School of Nursing Students Awarded by the Intellectual Entrepreneurship Consortium
Posted: March 28, 2013

Elizabeth Olorunsogo (IE intern) and Mandeep Kaur (graduate student/mentor) were named as inaugural Kuhn Scholar Intern and inaugural Kuhn Scholar Mentor, respectively, by the Intellectual Entrepreneurship (IE) Consortium. Both students received a $1,000 award.