School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived Events

Error Disclosure Training & Faculty Development

Bertha Eloisa “Penny” Chapa-Flores

The Interprofessional Education Task Force Presents
Error Disclosure Training & Faculty Development

Join the Interprofessional Education Task Force from UT Austin and UT Southwestern Medical School for the first interprofessional faculty development program and networking reception. This event is open to health professions faculty and stakeholders.

Date: Monday, April 1, 2013

Time: 1:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Location: | 1701 Red River, Austin, Texas

Guest Speaker: Brenda K. Zierler Ph.D., R.N., FAAN

Registration: Required by March 25, 2013.

Parking: Self parking is available in Trinity Garage for a fee. Trinity Garage is located at the intersection of Trinity and MLK. Metered on-street parking may also be available on Red River.

Questions: If you have questions, please email Sara Hearin, The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing.


Schedule listing the event time and program detail
Time Program Detail
1:00 - 1:30 PM Welcome & Medical School Update
Kenneth I. Shine, M.D.
Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs The University of Texas System
1:30 - 3:00 PM Using Error Disclosure Training with Health Professions Students to Teach Interprofessional Competencies for Collaborative Practice
Brenda K. Zierler Ph.D., R.N., FAAN
Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems
Co-Director, Center for Health Sciences Interprofessional Education, Practice and Research
University of Washington
3:00 - 4:30 PM  Interprofessional Interactive Exercises
4:30 - 5:00 PM  Closing Remarks
5:00 - 6:00 PM Networking and Reception

About the Training

With the release of the core competencies for interprofessional collaborative practice and the advent of a new medical school, now is the time to strengthen our interprofessional relationships and the interprofessional education of our students with the common goal of improving patient outcomes.

Guest speaker, Dr. Brenda Zierler, named as an interprofessional education expert on five externally funded grants, will provide insight and guidance in teaching health professions students communication and teamwork in error disclosure and early apology. This will lay the foundation for us to provide an interprofessional error disclosure training event for our students next year. This exciting faculty development program will also provide opportunities to network with your interprofessional colleagues.

Register online by March 25th, 2013: Click here to Register.


The University of Texas at Austin
The Seton Healthcare Family

CME Information

The Seton Healthcare Family is accredited by the Texas Medical Association to provide continuing medical education for physicians. This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and Policies of the Texas Medical Association (TMA) through the joint sponsorship of Seton Healthcare Family and The University of Texas at Austin.

This course has been designated by Seton Healthcare Family for 3 hour(s) of education in medical ethics and/or professional responsibility. The Seton Healthcare Family designates this live activity for a maximum of 3.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.


  • Apply core competencies of interprofessional practice to cases involving medical error.
  • Distinguish roles and responsibilities across disciplines in disclosing errors.

Audience: Physicians and other faculty providing instruction in the provision of healthcare services

Special Thanks

Dr. William Sage, M.D., J.D.,
Vice Provost for Health Affairs
James R. Dougherty Chair for Faculty Excellence
University of Texas at Austin School of Law

Dean Susan M. Cox, M.D., University of Texas Southwestern
Dean M. Lynn Crismon, Pharm. D., University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy
Dean Alexa K. Stuifbergen, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing
Dean Luis K. Zayas, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin School of Social Work

Interprofessional Education Task Force

Marilla Svinicki, Ph.D.

Celina Mankey, M.D.,
David Weigle,  Ph.D., M.P.H.,
John C. Luk, M.D.,
Mrinalini Kulkarni-Date, M.D.

Natural Science
Dee Silverthorn, Ph.D.,
Lesley Riley

Gayle Timmerman, Ph.D., R.N., CNS, FAAN

Patrick Davis, Ph.D.
Veronica Young, Pharm.D., M.P.H.
Debra Lopez, Pharm.D.

Social Work
Barbara Jones, Ph.D., M.S.W