School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived news

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses Honors Associate Professor for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession

Posted: Aug. 13, 2014

Dr. Linda Yoder

Linda H. Yoder, PhD, MBA, RN, AOCN, FAAN, is the 2014 recipient of the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses (AMSN) President’s Award. Because of scheduling conflicts, the award was made by Kathleen Lattavo, AMSN president, at The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing on Friday, August 1, instead of at the AMSN annual conference in September.

Dr. Yoder is an associate professor of nursing at the UT Austin School of Nursing. Her areas of research have included examining the nursing work environment for staff nurses; career development of nurses; and quality of life in patients with chronic illnesses, such as cancer, cardiovascular and pulmonary disease.

She currently is the principal investigator of a TriService Nursing Research Program grant examining quality of life experienced by military service members after they are discharged from the military burn unit at the United States Institute of Surgical Research, Fort Sam Houston, Texas.

“I am humbled and honored to receive the prestigious AMSN President’s Award. Medical-surgical nurses are often the unsung heroes of day-to-day complex nursing care, so it is very meaningful to me to be recognized by the professional nursing organization that represents them,” said Dr. Yoder.

In addition to her teaching responsibilities, Dr. Yoder also collaborates with the Seton Healthcare Family and St. David’s HealthCare in Austin, Texas, on nursing research and evidence-based practice initiatives.

She is a member of several professional nursing organizations, including the Academy of Medical Surgical Nursing, the Oncology Nursing Society, the Association of Nurse Executives, the American Nurses Association and Sigma Theta Tau International, and serves as a reviewer or editorial board member of several clinical and research journals.

Dr. Yoder is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and was named an Executive Nurse Fellow by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in 2011, which recognizes the effectiveness of nurse leaders in improving the nation’s health-care system. Recently, the Southern Nursing Research Society selected her for their 2013 SNRS Mid-Career Researcher Award.

“I’m extremely proud of Dr. Yoder and all she has accomplished while a member of our esteemed faculty,” said Alexa Stuifbergen, PhD, dean of the UT Austin School of Nursing. “Her leadership both inside the school and in other health-care arenas is a beacon to students who hope to become the nurse leaders of tomorrow.”

The President’s Award recognizes those members of AMSN who consistently volunteer their time and have made significant outstanding contributions to assisting the association achieve its strategic goals.