School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Archived News

Recognition, Achievements and Awards

The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing believes it is important to honor and celebrate our faculty, alumni and students and their achievements in and contributions to scholarship, research and service. This catalog of honor is one way we say “Thank you” for the diligence and integrity they display through their work each and every day.



International recognition for alumna’s contribution to nursing
Posted: Dec. 21, 2017

Gwen Sherwood, PhD (’88), RN, FAAN, has received the 2017 Mary Tolle Wright Founders Award from Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nursing for her extraordinary contributions to nursing. The award recognizes Dr. Sherwood’s visionary and innovative approach to nursing leadership, enhancement of the image of nurses and the profession of nursing, mentorship of other nurse professionals and leaders, and international recognition as a nurse leader in education, practice, administration, and research. She is currently professor and associate dean for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing. In 2016, Dr. Sherwood received the UT Austin School of Nursing’s Distinguished Alumni Award for Excellence in Nursing.

Alumna’s commitment to end-of-life nursing recognized
Posted: Dec. 21, 2017

Megan Pfitzinger Lippe BSN (’09), MSN (’11), PhD (’16), has received the 2017 ELNEC Award for her continued commitment to providing end-of-life education. The End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium (ELNEC) project is a national education initiative whose mission is to improve palliative care within the United States and internationally. ELNEC is a partnership between the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN), Washington, DC, and the City of Hope, Duarte, California.

Alumni publish article in journal
Posted: Oct 26, 2017

An article written by alumni Jessica Lee Barr, MSN, RN; Ariel Conners, BA, RN, CPN; and Caitlyn Cowart, MSN, RN, CCRN, was featured on the cover of American Nurse Today, a journal of the American Nurses Association. The article provides an evidence-based approach to help grief-stricken families make a critical decision.

Alumna receives prestigious scholarship
Posted: May 30, 2017

Courtney Bartz (BSN ’94) received a scholarship to attend the ACI Alliance annual conference. The ACI Alliance unites the medical community, patients, families, advocates and other professionals to improve the acceptance of and access to cochlear implants for one simple reason: to help enrich people's lives.

Alumna receives award
Posted: May 30, 2017

April Watkins (MSN ’10) received the Frist Humanitarian Award from the HCA Physician Services Group. Awards of Distinction winner for the Physician Services Group – Central & West Texas Division. “The Frist Humanitarian Award is truly a symbol of April’s dedication and commitment to St. David’s HealthCare, our patients and our community,” said C. David Huffstutler, HCA president and chief executive officer.

Dr. Jill E. Bormann

School of Nursing alumna receives recognition from the American Academy of Nursing
Posted: March 30, 2017

Jill E. Bormann, PhD, RN, FAAN (MSN 1982), was named an Academy Edge Runner by the American Academy of Nursing for the Mantram Repetition Program: Mind-Body-Spiritual Approach to Symptom and Stress Management. The Edge Runner initiative recognizes nurse-designed models of care that impact cost, improve healthcare quality and enhance consumer satisfaction. Dr. Bormann is a research health scientist at the VA San Diego Healthcare System and clinical professor at the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Sciences/Beyster Institute of Nursing Research at the University of San Diego.

Dr. Bormann’s research received funding from the National Institutes of Health’ and the Department of Veterans Affairs that contributed to the development of the MRP. The research included Veterans with chronic illness and post-traumatic stress disorder, family caregivers of Veterans with dementia, adults with HIV, childbearing women in labor, and healthcare employees.

Click here to view a summary profile of the Mantram Repetition Program model of care.

Dr. Mary Lou Sole

American Academy of Nursing awards top honor to School of Nursing alumna
Posted: March 7, 2017

Mary Lou Sole, PhD, RN, CCNS, FAAN, FCCM, Dean and Professor; Orlando Health Endowed Chair in Nursing, University of Central Florida, will be inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame during the organization’s 28th International Nursing Research Congress in Dublin, Ireland, July 27–31, 2017. Dr. Sole received a PhD from UT Austin School of Nursing in 1987.

Click here to learn more about the 2017 Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Inductees.