School of Nursing - Make a Gift

Upcoming News

Recognition, Achievements and Awards

The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing believes it is important to honor and celebrate our faculty, alumni and students and their achievements in and contributions to scholarship, research and service. This catalog of honor is one way we say “Thank you” for the diligence and integrity they display through their work each and every day.



Alumna named assistant dean for interprofessional education
Posted: Aug. 31, 2018

Alumna Anne Gill, DrPH, MS, BSN (’76), RN, was named assistant dean for interprofessional education at the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.

Alumna receives grant to improve interventions for cancer survivors
Posted: July 10, 2018

Terry A. Badger, PhD (1986), RN, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN, has received a $2.5 million grant from the National Cancer Institute to help improve symptoms for cancer survivors after their treatment. Dr. Badger is a professor at the University of Arizona College of Nursing.

Alumnus joins the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
Posted: July 5, 2018

Kenneth Dion, PhD, RN, MSN, MBA, has joined the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing as assistant dean for Business Development and Strategic Relationships. He received an MSN in 1995 and PhD in 2011 from the UT Austin School of Nursing. To learn more read the article The Johns Hopkins School of Nursing Hires Nurse Entrepreneur to Lead School's Business Development, which was published on the Newswise website.

Megan LippeAlumna receives research grant
Posted: June 13, 2018

Megan Lippe, PhD, MSN, RN, has received a 2018 Nursing Education Research Grant from the National League for Nursing for a research project she is conducting with Dr. Andra Davis from Washington State University-Vancouver School of Nursing. The Dorothy Otto Research Award is for $24,947.

Dr. Lippe received her PhD 2016, MSN 2011, and BSN 2009 from the UT Austin School of Nursing. She is currently an assistant professor and simulationspecialist at the Capstone College of Nursing at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa.

Alumna receives the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development award
Posted: May 31, 2018

Janiece Walker TaylorJaniece Walker Taylor, PhD, RN, MSN, received the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development award for her project “Communication Behaviors and Development of Pain and Depressive Symptoms Intervention Among Older African-American Women.” Each Amos Scholar selected receives an annual stipend up to $75,000, complemented by a $30,000 annual grant toward support of research activities. The Minority Medical Faculty Development Program was renamed in January 2004 in honor of Harold Amos, Ph.D., who was the first African-American to chair a department, now the Department of Microbiology and Medical Genetics, at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Taylor was also named a Scholar of the Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health (BIRCWH), a mentored career development program that connects junior faculty to senior faculty with shared research interest in women's health and sex-differences research.

Dr. Taylor received a Master’s of Science in Nursing (2009) and PhD (2014) from the UT Austin School of Nursing and is an assistant professor at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing in Baltimore, Maryland.

Alumna Yvonne VanDyke, VP for Nursing at Ascension Texas, retiresYvonne VanDyke
Posted: May 29, 2018

Yvonne VanDyke, MSN (1990), RN, Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow, retired as senior vice president for Nursing and chief nursing officer from Ascension Texas June 2018. Throughout her Seton career, she worked to improve the care of patients through the professional development of nurses and a focus on inter-professional collaboration. She introduced an evidence-based RN residency, a strategy for attracting and retaining new graduate nurses while accelerating their development. The program design has since been adopted throughout Ascension. To further support professional development for Seton nurses, in 2015 Yvonne led the establishment of the Nursing Professional Development Fund, which provides financial support to nurses pursuing professional development opportunities and scholarly activities.

Alumna named president of international nurse association
Posted: March 13, 2018

Hsiu-Hung Wang, RN, PhD (1998), FAAN, was named president of the Taiwan Nurses Association. Her term will run from 2018 to 2020. Dr. Wang is currently vice president and professor at the Kaohsiung Medical University in Taiwan.

Alumnus has article published
Posted: Jan. 11, 2018

Former Honors student Casey Luong (BSN ’17) had his article “Suicidality in Young Men Who Have Sex with Men: A Systematic Review of the Literature” published December 2017 in the journal Issues in Mental Health Nursing.