Congratulations to Our New AAN Fellows

 Ashley Henneghan, PhD, RN, Michelle Wright, PhD, RN, and Kavita Radhakrishnan, PhD, MSEE, RN

Three UT Austin School of Nursing faculty members will be inducted into the 2020 class of fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. Ashley Henneghan, PhD, RN, assistant professor, and Michelle Wright, PhD, RN, assistant professor, are among 230 distinguished nurse leaders to join the Academy. Kavita Radhakrishnan, PhD, MSEE, RN, associate professor, was selected in 2019, but deferred induction for one year and will join her colleagues at the event this fall.

The inductees will be recognized for their significant contributions to health and health care at the Academy’s annual Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference, taking place virtually Oct. 29–31, 2020.

The School of Nursing inductees join 108 UT Austin fellows in the Academy, 28 of whom are current faculty or faculty emeriti. Another five of this year’s inductees are UT Austin alumni.

The Academy currently has more than 2,700 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research who have been recognized for their extraordinary commitment to the promotion of the public’s health through evidence and innovation. The newest fellows represent 39 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. territory of Guam, as well as 13 countries.

“We are proud of the accomplishments of our new fellows and are confident they will continue to contribute to the body of nursing science and education,” said Alexa Stuifbergen, dean of the UT Austin School of Nursing. “We are also grateful to the AAN for recognizing their stellar achievements with this designation.”

Sept. 23, 2020